Eighty Nine Days to Go

I mentioned in my last post I am doing a challenge…a 100 day challenge. It’s not special except a 100 days is a long time to do some difficult things. They aren’t all difficult, just the things I struggle with are difficult.

It’s not like I haven’t done challenges before or been on restrictive diets or worked hard at things. It did take awhile to decide to do the challenge because there were the voices in my head, “You need to do something different,” and “But…I dooonnn’ttt waaaant toooo,” along with all the argument statements that backed them up.

It is the voices before decision that create the most trouble. Once decision takes over, the challenge is doable. It may not be fun, it may suck at times…a lot of times. It may be really hard in moments. It will be gratifying at times. There may be struggles, and challenges within the challenge–and within myself, and I only need to do it one more day. Every day.

What is it?

I have joined Zero to 100, a challenge put on by Brady McDonald. He has been levelling up over the last few years and recently completed the Arizona Ultraman. It is a free challenge you can join any time. It is basically this: 45 minute workout each day (can be total time over at least 5 days). Track macros, eat well, no junk food. No alcohol. Plan the next day in four areas, food, clothes, sleep and schedule.

While my schedule is flexible, there are parts that are pretty set in stone. Getting enough sleep has been a priority for me for a long time. I have been pretty good for planning food because I have done it for so long. I have also losely planned my clothes for the next day since I get up and often go for a workout. It’s not really a time challenge for me. I am working to improve these areas.

The Good

What of the first eleven days? I have lost three and a half pounds, I am feeling better. My mind is clearer and I have more energy. My resting heart rate has dropped by ten beats per minute. It hasn’t been this low in years.

I have been enjoying the food I have been choosing. I have been able to balance my macros to where I want them. It feels like I am eating more. I am making sure I get more fibre in my diet as well.

Despite the extra days of exercise, my hip is hurting less than it has in the last 8 months. I am hopeful for a full recovery.

The Bad

I have had some hard times. Last week I went from wallyball to a meeting. I drank a protein shake on the way. My brain was not functioning well for awhile; had a difficult time forming sentences. It passed in about 1/2 hour. Saturday I had a great sleep with lots of deep sleep. About mid day I felt dopey and emotional. It passed in a couple hours.

There were a couple days I really wanted to snack. I am not a huge snack person but I felt like I wanted something despite not feeling hungry. I resisted despite the obsession in my mind.

The Ugly

It seemed appropriate to add this heading; maybe superfluously. I have been craving garlic and totally enjoying a large (four cups) caesar salad with only 2 tablespoons of a light dressing and extra fresh garlic and fresh ground black pepper. It has less than 100 calories and provides a lot of vitamin A. I refrain from eating it before going to meetings.

On Saturday when I had the extra sleep, I woke up with black rings under my eyes. Seriously disturbing. I tried to cover it up with make up which I rarely wear.

Timing

Part of the challenge is the time involved. To take forty-five minutes in a day to exercise isn’t so bad. It does take time it is not just the 45 minutes. There is the driving time on the days I go to the gym or wallyball. There is the changing of clothes and shower considerations and scheduling accordingly. Because I am a woman who has hair and makeup to consider along with the shower, there is more planning involved.

With food, there was a learning curve with the app I am using to track food which is why I did a soft start the week before. I didn’t want to be learning it all while under the stress of all the things at once. It is getting easier as I repeat food options like oatmeal for breakfast or the salmon sandwich for lunch with sprouts and lettuce. Not that I have the same thing each day, just there are more items on my list, so fewer things to search and figure out serving size.

So Far

Things are going well. I am confident I will get through the next eighty nine days with some better habits and more awareness going forward. I am thankful to be feeling better and trust it will reflect in other areas of my life. It already is.

Leave a comment