It’s Been a Week

It’s been a week! Depending a person’s tone of voice that little statement can mean a lot of things. For me, it’s been a week since we arrived home from Colombia. It seems so much longer because…well, it’s been a week. The thing with social media and blogging is sometimes a person’s life can come across as being all rainbows and butterflies. In our mind we might know that everyone has their struggles but when we see all the good things, the tendency is to focus on those with no regard to the realities we all face and may not know about.

I definitely try to stay positive. I don’t think being negative, complaining, and whining are very effective in improving my life or that of others. Don’t get me wrong; I am not above being negative, complaining and whining, but I don’t always present that side to everyone. I do want to be real and sometimes that means being less than positive. So, it’s been a week, in this context is said with a bit of a sigh.

Returning from a great trip seems to have an element of post vacation blues. That for me was compounded by the many things that were not done in my absence. Before leaving on a trip there are all those things to do in preparation. Sleep was scarce the week before leaving. On the trip, sleep was irregular and this past week, sleep again seemed to be less than desired. Being tired is not conducive to being positive in the wake of a storm.

IMG_2488

There are some weeks where having a snack hangover and falling asleep seems like the best option to get through the week. 

I could go into details of all that felt wrong about the week, dealing with household management items like laundry, taking care of things that were left while I was gone and moving back into cooking and cleaning up. I could go into detail about how things at our flip house didn’t progress to the point we had hoped, things were done incorrectly and there was another problem that needed to be dealt with along with somehow, we didn’t have enough supplies we thought we had purchased enough of. I could talk about areas where I volunteer and finding that yet again when I returned from my vacation, things were left a mess/undone. I could whine about the small things, the dropping of stuff, the cat puking, the dust and mud tracked in the house, the things that can happen any time but seem so much worse when one is tired and feeling beat down by circumstances. I could be more specific on how my week was less than ideal, but again, we all have bad weeks and I know from a message from a friend that my week deserves a glowing review in comparison to what she is going through. It puts things in perspective; it doesn’t devalue what I felt about my week. I had a less than perfect week but there were good things too.

There were many blessings this week. The countertops were installed in our two kitchens. We got to attend a marriage renewal ceremony. We picked up our partners/traveling partners/friends at the airport. I accomplished a decent amount of things this week. I was able to play wallyball and basketball this week. The weather was nice (definitely nicer than before we left). I survived the week. So, I can also say “It’s been a week” with a little lilt in my voice because I am more in tune with the comforts of home and the blessings I have.

Still, being real, I hope this coming week will be better.

 

Leave a Reply

